When an Approval Request has been denied, the Requestor will automatically receive an email containing the comment(s) from the user(s) that declined it.
By going into the Approvals section, under the Declined tab, the user can resubmit a new version of the item or request to begin the process again both by clicking on Edit Item. Alternatively, the user can delete the item and complete the approval process altogether.
If Version Control is enabled, resubmitting a resource will automatically add a new version. All versions submitted during the approval process will be kept and available once the file is publicly available in its parent folder. Note that only users that have access to the version control module (under Admin>Groups>Permissions>Tools), can access previous versions of a resource.