You can restrict the ability for select groups of users to Edit certain Sections of Database Records. This will mean that the users selected will not be able to Edit any field within that section, though they will still be able to view it.
This can be set on each section in the Form Builder area for each Register / Database.
This can be used (for example) when one section of a form needs to be filled in by the end user, but another section is for 'Admin only' to complete.
You can skip to a specific section by clicking the headings below:
Setting up the Edit Section Restriction
To enable this option, following the following steps:
- Either Create a New Database, or select Edit Form Builder for your existing Database or Register.
- Create a new Section, or click on an existing Section name (or Edit icon) within your Form.
- From the Prevent Edit for Select Groups field, click into the dropdown (pictured below) and add in any Groups of users you want to restrict access to for this Section.
- When you're finished with your changes, click Save at the bottom of the Form Settings area.
Users within the groups selected will still be able to View the Section, but will not be able to edit it. Instead to these users all fields within this Section will appear disabled, so the user will not see any indication they can input a response.
Do not apply if user belongs to a non-listed Group
This setting appears under the Group dropdown and is unselected by default.
- If the setting is not enabled, when the user is a member of a Group selected in the field above they will not be able to edit the section, regardless of other permissions they may have.
- If the setting is enabled, when the user is a member of a Group selected in the field above, but is also a member of another group which would have permission to Edit the section (as they can Add/Edit the Record), then they will be able to edit the section.
Maintain Mandatory Validation for restricted Groups
Once you have selected a group, you can also choose whether or not mandatory validation should be applied. This option is not enabled by default.
- If this setting is not enabled, mandatory fields within that section will not be required to be filled out by the restricted user (and they will be able to submit or save the record / stage).
- If this setting is enabled, validation on mandatory fields will appear as usual, so the user will not be able to submit the record/stage.
You can see this setting highlighted below.
Note: If the Title field for your Database / Register is in this 'restricted' section, or if you have Mandatory fields within the section, users with the restricted access will not be able to add a new record.
You can read more about your Databases module here.
Please note that the 'Database' and 'Records' terminology referenced above may appear differently in your platform as these are customisable terms.
If you have any further questions about Save Draft, please contact your Customer Success Manager.