A Feedback Request provides users with the ability to request a digital approval or feedback on a file they have publish rights on at any time (even after its publication). If the folder has a feedback workflow attached anyone with access to that folder can request feedback on any item at anytime.
The process is similar to the Publish Approval process and is a great tool to gather input from various stakeholders on working documents.
Once it's been enabled Globally or on specific Folders, users can go to any File within the Folder and Request Feedback from within the More menu of the file.
Request Feedback popup
Once the Request Feedback action is selected, users can select an Approver (the user who will receive and review the request) and add a comment about the file, as well as entering a date that the request should be reviewed by.
Clicking Submit will submit your request and send an email to the Approver. Reset will clear the form and removed any entered content so you can start again. Once the Feedback request is submitted, you can see the request, along with ant other responses in the Workflow History popup.
Multiple feedback requests can be sent on a same file to different users.
You can see an example of this process below.
Approving a Feedback Request
Once the request is submitted, the Approver will receive an email informing them that a new item requires their approval (an example is pictured below).
Clicking on the Approvals Link will take them to the Approvals List page, where they can action any relevant pending workflow. You can view an example of this below.
When responding to a Feedback Request, Approvers can Accept or Decline the request, as well as add comments.
Feedback Requests with only Comments required
New functionality allows Approvers to submit a comment, without needing to respond with a Yes or No response. This is especially useful if you want only want to provide feedback.
To set up this feature, in your Workflow settings you'll see an option called Require Approval Response (highlighted below). Uncheck this setting to remove the Yes/No options from this workflow.
All comments associated to a feedback request process are only visible by the stakeholders directly involved, unless broader permission to see all comments is given to users.
To find out more about your Workflows click here.
Please note that some of the terminology used above may appear differently in your platform as certain terms are customisable.