If you wish to reduce the risk of a user accidentally deleting or editing a Public File, the Auto-Check Out feature allows you to lock public files so users cannot make changes if the file has actively been used/viewed in the past 30 days. This reduces potential risks associated with public sharing and ensures your assets remain safe to use externally; whilst enabling you to track where and how your assets are used.
This feature is specific to Active Public Files.
Enabling the Feature
In the Admin section, go to Resources - Public Sharing and select the Enable Public Sharing checkbox if not already enabled.
The newest setting that will appear in that section is called Auto-Checkout for Active Public Files. Select the corresponding checkbox and Save your Admin settings to automatically checkout your public files.
Once enabled in the Admin area, any Publicly Shared File that has been used/viewed in the past 30 days (on an external site) will be automatically checked out. This means that only certain users (with adequate permission) will be able to Delete or Move the file. Both of these actions would "break" the Shared link, removing the file from your external site.
These permissions (regarding who can Delete or Move the file) are based on the options selected for the Check In / Check Out Feature in Admin Settings. Either the Resource or Folder Admin option/s are the recommended selection for this feature.
A Lock icon will appear next to any public file which has been locked out due to the Auto-Check Out function.
An easy way to recognise Active Public Files is to look at the Public (planet) icon, as this will change to green if the file is in use. You can read more about that here.
Please note that some of the terminology in this article, such as 'Files' and 'Resources' might appear differently in your platform as these terms are customisable.
You can read more about Public Sharing here.