The Public Sharing feature set allows you to Share or Embed images or videos into websites, email newsletters, social media platforms or other third party websites, as well as to email a custom link to select content to non-registered users.
You can click on the headings below to find out how to enable the feature and some of the specifics involved:
How to Turn on Public Sharing
To use any of the Public Sharing features, including Share and Embed or Manual URL Transformations, you will need to enable the Public Sharing feature, as outlined below.
Enabling in Admin Settings
This feature must be enabled within your Admin > Settings page, via a Resources setting called Enable Public Sharing. You can also choose whether you want all of your folders to have this option automatically enabled. Please note that if enabled, all files within these folders can be shared publicly by those with the correct permissions.
To enable this feature as a default option for all of your folders, select the Enabled option on the Public Sharing Folder Default setting. You will also be able to customize this setting on individual folders.
Enabling on specific folders
This setting can be applied more granularly on a Folder by Folder basis. In the Folder Settings > Advanced Options section, the Enable Public Sharing checkbox should be selected. Once you've enabled this setting on your folder, you will be able to view the Share / Embed action for all files within the folder, and files are able to be publicly distributed.
Once the settings above have been enabled, you will be able to Share and Embed your Resources publicly. To find out how you can do this, click here
What are the associated Costs for Media Sharing and Embed?
The Media Embed feature is complimentary to you, and each month, you will receive a free data transfer allowance starting at 100GB per month depending on your subscription.
Contact our Helpdesk to learn more about Media Packages available for larger public sharing allowances.
How is Media Sharing and Embed Bandwidth Calculated?
If an image or video is embedded into a social media or third party website, each time the page loads, the file is essentially 'downloaded'. Usually, once a user views it - it is downloaded 1 time only as the media is cached in the browser. To keep costs under control, and also optimize the end user experience, we recommend using small image and video sizes when sharing content publicly. In the Admin > Settings area - you can track your public data transfer usage. Emails will be sent to your Primary Admin Contacts when you reach 80%, 90% and 100% of your total monthly allowance. You can pause or stop this feature at any time.
To find out more about Public Sharing, you can browse other articles here
Please note that the 'Resources' terminology referenced above may appear differently in your platform as these are customisable terms. You can view alternative options here.