When enabled, the Restricted Edit Record Permission setting allows you to restrict the Users who can Delete a record to only those with full Admin permissions on a Database's Records module, ensuring those with Edit permission are not able to delete any existing record.
This setting will also limit who can manage the Permissions in a Record (when enabled) to users with Admin permissions on the Database's Records Module only.
This article will take you through how to enable this setting and provide examples of how it works.
Click on the items below to jump to a specific section:
- How to enable the Restricted Edit Record setting on a Database
- Deleting Records
- Manage Permissions on a Record
- Permissions in Records
How to enable the Restricted Edit Record setting on a Database
For an existing Database open the Actions menu and select Manage Permissions.
On that page simply click the Restricted Edit Record Permissions checkbox and Submit to enable this setting for that specific Database. You can see an example of how to do this below:
Once enabled, a User with Edit permission on the Records Module for this Database will no longer be able to Delete Records. This includes Draft Records. The Delete action will no longer appear for the relevant users in any location, such as in the Record's Actions Menu, though they will still be able to select to Edit, as shown below:
Remember that this setting needs to be applied on each Database individually.
To read more about how Permissions work on your IntelligenceBank platform, click here.
Manage Permissions on a Record
When the Restricted Edit Record Permissions setting is enabled, the option for the user with Edit permissions to Manage Permissions on a record level is also removed.
Permissions in Record
A setting called Permissions in Record is available to users who can Add a new Database, or Edit an existing Database via the Database Settings action.
If enabled, this field allows users who can Create or Edit a Record within a Database to view and assign permissions for that Record to other users.
However when the Restricted Edit Record Permission setting is also enabled, only users who have Admin permissions on the Records Module for this Database will see this field when adding or editing a Record.
An example of an Admin user who can access this field when editing a record:
The same record when edited by a user with only Edit permissions on the Records Module. Note that the Permissions button does not appear:
- If a user has Edit permissions on an individual Record, but also Admin permission on the Records Module (via Admin > Groups permissions set-up), then these restrictions will not apply.
- If a user has Edit permissions on the Records Module for a Database also has Admin permissions on the same module via another Group, then these restrictions will not apply.
Please note that the 'Databases' and 'Records' terminology referenced above may appear differently in your platform as these are customisable terms. You can view alternative options here.