Whenever a CDN link is requested, the content is delivered / downloaded to the end user from the CDN location that is the closest to them. When this occurs, data transfer is used to download the file. The amount of data transfer used (typically the size of the file) is counted towards your CDN public data transfer limit.
When your data transfer limit reaches 80%, 90% or 100%, an email notification will be automatically sent to the Primary Admin Contacts of your platform, as set under Admin > Settings. A Customer Success Manager will contact you to discuss upgrade options for your account, or your can email us directly firstname.lastname@example.org.
When the 100% limit is reached, the following happens until the end of the limit cycle or the limit being increased:
- Share / Embed CDN Links links will be invalidated and no longer load, unless a tolerance margin has been agreed upon for your account.
- Email / Share Display Links will remain accessible but it will not be possible to download the files any longer.
As the limit cycle ends, or the limit is increased, these restrictions get automatically lifted.