Users can add Markup Comments to files or URLs within an Upload field in a Database, allowing for an easy way to give or receive feedback on a file. Users can be mentioned (tagged with @ mentions), and new revisions can be uploaded based on provided feedback.
This allows the team to collaboratively progress a file from the first Draft through to when it's ready for approval. Users can then utilise our File Approval or Publish to Folder functionality to ensure the file can be approved or distributed to necessary stakeholder.
This article contains a step-by-step guide on how to configure and utilise General Markup Comments within Databases for uploaded files. Click on an item below to jump to that section
- Configuring your General Markup Comments settings
- Adding General Markup Comments
- Using with File Approval Workflows
Configuring your General Markup Comments settings
To enable General Markup Comments, follow the steps below:
1. Ensure the "Enable Markup Comments" setting is enabled in the General section in Admin > Settings. This should be enabled by default.
2. On a Multi Upload field in your Form Builder, enable the General Markup Comment setting highlighted below.
Note that the configuration options available will allow you to enable / disable the ability to Add Revisions.
3. Save the Upload field.
The General Markup Comment icon will now be available for any files saved in this field.
Adding General Markup Comments
To start making Markup Comments for a saved file, click on the comment icon next to the file.
This can be accessed when users with appropriate permissions are either viewing or editing the record.
Clicking this icon will open the General Markup Comments page.
Users can then start making annotations and comments against the file under a comment thread.
You can read more about comment threads here.
NOTE: If you make a mistake, you can click Undo on the snackbar at the bottom of the page to undo a annotation or comment.
Users will be notified of a comment made here if they are under the same comment thread:
- The user who uploaded the original file or any revision within General Markup Comments.
- A user who has previously added a comment for that file's General Markup Comments.
A user who is tagged via an "@ mention" in a comment.
You can read more about @ mentioning users here.
Once a user received an alert, links in that email can take them directly to the General Markup Comment page for that file for them to reply to a comment, or add new annotations or revisions.
NOTE: What Markup alert emails users do, and do not, receive will depend on the settings on the platform and their own specific user settings (if changed from platform default). You can read more about alert settings here.
URL Markup Comments & Annotations
Opening a URL in General Markup Comments will always show the 'live' URL (ie, the same as if the web page is accessed directly).
There are some restrictions for URL's which could impact on their ability to be displayed and annotated:
- Only URL's which can be displayed in an iFrame can be viewed. Note that this may be a setting which might need to be enabled when creating the link / webpage.
- The URL must be publicly accessible. If the links content is behind a login for example, it cannot be viewed.
- The link should be a secure link, containing for example "https" not "http"
- There are some outstanding issues when Viewports are enabled on a website. If you have any issues with these, please contact your Customer Success Manager for more information.
Also note that since the 'live' site is being displayed, if the site is updated any annotations made will continue to display in the original location they were made.
When enabled, Revisions will also be able to be added where users who have permission to edit the record will be able to update the file with changes made off-platform to reflect any suggested or required updates.
The new/current Revision will then be reflected back in the File list in the record.
Once the final Revision is ready, it can be sent for Approval.
For URLs, once the a new revision is saved, a snapshot (screenshot) of the "old" revision will now be generated as a PDF, allowing you to update the same URL whilst maintaining an accurate history of the changes made to the link.
The Previous Revisions will also display the Annotations and Comments, allowing these to be resolved as required.
Any previous Revisions can also be Downloaded as a PDF file, whilst the current Revision has an option for the user to directly access the URL, if they wish to load it in the browser instead.
Using with File Approval Workflows
If enabled, File Approval Requests can be made at any time a user deems it is ready based on comments and revisions made in the General Markup phase.
When these File Approval Workflows are also enabled for the same field, there are a few additional things to note in how these operate with General Markup Comments:
- Annotations and Comments made in General Markup Comments do not carry across to the Workflow Request Markup area.
- Likewise, any Annotations and Comments made in the Workflow Request will not appear back in the General Markup Comments for that same file.
- It is important to note that not all users who have added or can see the General Markup Comments may be able to see the File Approval Request and any comments made within for the same file, as permissions can differ for these two Markup locations. Click here for more info on this point.
- New Revisions will be disabled from being added in General Markup Comments area while the approval request is Pending.
- Any new Revision made in an Approval request will however sync back to the General Markup Comments location, with an icon to notify users this has occurred:
Please note that the 'Records', 'Databases' and 'Workflow' terminology referenced above may appear differently in your platform as these are customisable terms. You can view related terminology here.
If you have any further questions about General Markup Comments, please contact your Customer Success Manager.