If a user loses their Tablet, they should contact you and/or other admins immediately.
Then, you can either remove their permissions to all folders/files or suspend/delete their account entirely. If the user needs immediate access, set them up under a new username (email address) and password.
- If you remove permissions, when the person that found the tablet opens the app, all data will be automatically removed.
- If the account is suspended, the person that found the tablet will instantly be logged out of the app when opening it.
- Both are effective ways to prevent access to sensitive data, however the first method allows automatic wiping of the data.
- Note: This only works if the tablet is connected to the internet at the time the app is launched, as it is technically impossible to remotely contact the device. Therefore these changes cannot be enforced if the tablet is offline.
It is also important to make sure an offline expiry period is set under Admin >> Global Settings >> Login, so users are forced to login again regularly to the app (e.g. every 8 hours).
Finally, note that all data on the device is encrypted, including annotations, so even in the event that someone was trying to break into the device memory and access the data directly, they would not be able to do anything with it.