Aliases provide the ability to create a linked copy of an existing resource in another folder. When you create an alias of a resource, the alias will share metadata from the original resource. Users will not have the ability to edit the actual alias. If you edit the alias' original resource, the changes will apply to the alias.
- Users with Publish permission are able to create an alias.
- Like other resources, to view an alias the user requires at least Preview permission
- Users with Publish or Admin permissions will also be able to view Indicator Icons for Aliases and Original Files with an Alias.
Creating an Alias
To Create an Alias, you can either use the Bulk Actions options, or do this on a single resource.
On a single resource
Within your file's action menu, select Create Alias. You can then select the folder where the Alias will be found. Your current folder, as well as any Folder you don't have publish permission on, will be disabled in this list.
Bulk creating aliases
Once you've selected all of your resources, use the Bulk Actions bar to select Create Alias Aliases can be be created individually or in bulk. Additionally, you have the ability to see aliases of an originating resource from within the info preview popup. However, it’s important to note that you cannot edit aliases using Bulk Apply Changes or Edit Resources.
If you have the required permissions (Publish and/or Admin), you will be able to view indicator icons against your files.
If the file has an Alias, so it is the original file, you will see this indicator.
If the file is an Alias, you will see this indicator.
Viewing your Aliases on Info Preview
You can view a list of all of your Aliases on the Info Preview page of each Original file. Simply select the Info action and click the Alias tab. From here you can Delete or Move your Alias, or click the Folder of each Alias to view the file within that folder.
Article is closed for comments.