If you often find yourself needing to fill out the same Record multiple times, you can use a simple shortcut and Copy your Record. This will mean that for the selected Stages and Pages, the field values entered on that Stage or Page will be copied to the new record.
This option is available for both Single and Staged Databases, though the behavior will differ slightly between them. For both Database types, you can select which Pages or Stages you would like to copy, or give users the option to select between the selected Pages or Stages. You can also exclude specific fields, so their values won't be copied across, which is useful if there is information that will always need to be updated for each record.
For Staged Databases, it's important to note that regardless of the options selected, users will always be taken to the first Stage when copying the Record. For both Database types, users will still be able to update those copied field values, regardless of the options enabled below.
By clicking on the headings below, you can find out how to Copy a Record on each type of Database and about the settings which can be configured to tailor this feature to your needs, and for each Database.
- Copy Record Settings
- Copying Single Database Records
- Copying Staged Database Records
Copy Records Settings
Go to your Database Settings page to configure how and what will be copied when users select the Copy Record action. Note that the Copy Record action is only available to Users who have permission to Create Records on the Database.
On the Database settings page, next to 'Copy Record Options' will be a Configure button (as pictured below).
Clicking the button will open a popup (pictured below), providing your configuration options that you can see and read more about below.
Your first Copy Record setting is an option called 'Auto-create Related between original and copy'. If enabled, any record you Copy will automatically have a Related link between the original record and the copied record.
Copy Auto-Created Folder content
If the Auto-Created Folders feature has been setup on your Database, you can also enable an option to copy the content within the Auto-Created Folders that were created for the original record. Any items that have been added to those Folders will be copied to your new Folder structure once the copied record is published.
To enable this option, activate the toggle beneath the setting called 'Copy content of original record's auto-created folder(s) to new folder(s).'
Copied Pages or Copied Stages Selection Options
This setting (pictured below) allows you to decide which Pages or Stages will be copied when the user clicks the Copy Record action. If you unselect a Page or Stage in the popup, the fields within that Page or Stage will not be copied. For Single Databases, the field will be called Copied Pages (as pictured below). For Staged Databases, the field will be called Copied Stages.
- Single Databases will have all Pages selected
- Staged Databases will have Stage 1 only selected
Important points to note:
- Any Pages or Stages selected will be supported for the Copy Action
- If Allow User Selection is enabled, the Pages or Stages available in the popup's list will be taken from the options selected in this field
- If all options in the field above are unselected (as you can see above), the Copy Record action will be hidden for all users on that Database only.
Allow User Selection
Enable this setting if you want users (who already have permission to Create or Edit the Record) to be able to choose which Pages or Stages they wish to copy after they've clicked the Copy Record action. The options available for the user will depend on the selections made in the Copied Pages or Copied Stages field above.
When the user has clicked Copy Record, they will see a popup (pictured below) which allows the user the option to deselect Stages or Pages. By default, all options will be selected.
The Excluded Fields setting allows you to choose the fields that will not be included in the Copy Record action. Once a field is selected here and the record is copied, the value entered within that field will not be copied.
For example if you add the Team Members field that is pictured in the screenshot below; when the user Copies a record they will still need to fill out that field as the value will not have been copied.
The excluded fields available in this popup will include all supported fields from the Pages or Stages selected in the Copied Pages / Stages field above. If a user excludes a field from within a Duplicable section, then all instances of that field will not be copied.
Fields not supported for selection (as they are automatically generated or may depend on other data):
- Sequence ID
- Calculation field
- Lookup Grids
It is also important to note that even though the field has been excluded from copying, it will still be available on the form for the user to fill out, though without the value.
Single Database Records
To Copy any Record within a Single Database, head to the Record's actions dropdown menu and select Copy Record. Note that this terminology may differ on your page as this is a customisable term, as you can see below ('Copy Project').
Once you select Copy Record, a new, duplicate record will then open. This includes all values from all selected Pages that have been filled in on the original record, including any attachments from your Upload fields. You will still need to Save the record to successfully create it.
Copying Staged Database Records
To Copy any Record within a Staged Database, go to the relevant Record's actions dropdown menu and select Copy Record (as you would in a Single Database, demonstrated above). Note that this terminology appear differently on your page as this is a customisable term, as you can see above ('Copy Project').
When you copy a Staged Record, the record will always open at Stage 1, like if the user has created a new Record. Values from other Stages may be copied is enabled using the settings above, however these will only be visible when that Stage has been reached (via the Continue action) and they will not appear anywhere else until that Stage is saved; ie Stats, Dashboards, etc.
If you have any further questions about this feature, please contact your Customer Success Manager. Alternatively you can read more about the Databases module here.
Please note that the 'Database' and 'Record' terminology referenced above may appear differently in your platform as these are customizable terms.
Please sign in to leave a comment.