You can restrict select groups of users from editing certain sections within a record form.
This is a helpful feature when one section of a form needs to be filled in by the end user, but another section is for an Admin only to complete.
This can be set up via the Restrict Section field within a section's settings in the Form Builder area for each Register/Database.
Table of Contents
- Restriction options: Prevent or Allow Edit by Group(s)
- Setting up the Prevent Edit Section Restriction
- Do not apply Prevent Edit Restriction if user belongs to a non-listed Group
- Setting up the Allow Edit Section Restriction
- Do not apply Allow Edit Restriction if user belongs to a non-listed Group
- Maintain Mandatory Validation for restricted Groups
Restriction options: Prevent or Allow Edit by Group(s)
To enable this option, first either create or edit a section within your existing or new database/register.
From here, enable the Restrict Section checkbox.
A new field Restrict Options will display with the below two options:
- Prevent Edit by Group(s)
- Allow Edit by Group(s)
Whichever option you select will dictate the logic that is applied to the groups that can edit records in this database.
- Prevent Edit by Group(s) will allow you to add in groups you do not want to be able to edit fields within this section. This option is good for when there is a specific group or groups you want to exclude from editing info within this section - such as barring external users (agencies, etc.) from being able to edit details that do not relate to their work.
- Allow Edit by Group(s) provides the inverse of this logic. Here you can nominate the group or groups that you want to be the only ones able to edit fields within the section. This helps with 'For Admin Use Only' or similar scenarios. This also ensures that any new groups that are added to the platform over time will not be able to edit this section (unless these settings are updated and they are added to the list of allowed groups).
Setting up the Prevent Edit Section Restriction
Once the Prevent Edit by Group(s) option has been selected, a dropdown field will display called Prevent Edit for Select Groups which will allow you to add in the groups of users that you want to restrict edit access to for this section.
Users within the groups selected will still be able to view the section, but will not be able to edit it.
Instead, to these users, all fields within this section will appear disabled, so the user will not see any indication they can input a response.
Do not apply Prevent Edit Restriction if user belongs to a non-listed Group
The Do not apply if user also belongs to a non-listed Group setting appears under the group dropdown and is unselected by default.
- For the Prevent Edit option, if the setting is not enabled, then when the user is a member of a group selected in the field above they will not be able to edit the section, regardless of other permissions they may have.
- If the setting is enabled, when the user is a member of a group selected in the field above, but is also a member of another group which would have permission to edit the section (as they can add/edit the record), then they will be able to edit the section.
Setting up the Allow Edit Section Restriction
Once the Allow Edit by Group(s) option has been selected, a dropdown field called Allow Edit for Select Groups will appear.
Here you can add in the groups of users that you want to enable edit access to for this section.
Do not apply Allow Edit Restriction if user belongs to a non-listed Group
The Do not apply if user also belongs to a non-listed Group setting appears under the group dropdown and is unselected by default.
- If the setting is enabled, when the user is also a member of a group not selected in the field above, then they will be able to edit fields within the section.
- If this setting is not enabled, then when the user is a member of any group not selected in the field above they will not be able to edit fields within the section, as long as they remain a member of the selected group.
Maintain Mandatory Validation for restricted Groups
For either Prevent Edit or Allow Edit options, you can also choose whether or not mandatory validation should be applied to users who cannot edit the section. This option is not enabled by default.
- If this setting is not enabled, mandatory fields within that section will not be required to be filled out by the restricted user (and they will be able to submit or save the record/stage).
- If this setting is enabled, validation on mandatory fields will appear as usual, so the user will not be able to submit the record/stage.
You can see this setting highlighted below.
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article