If you often find yourself needing to fill out the same Record multiple times, you can use a simple shortcut and Copy your Record.
This option is available for both Single and Staged Databases, though the behaviour differs slightly between them.
By clicking on the headings below, you can find out how to Copy a Record on each type of Database and about the settings which can be customised to enhance this feature.
Copy Records Settings
The settings below enable additional actions to occur alongside with other features when you copy a record. Go to your Database Settings page to enable the following. Note that the Copy Record action is only available to Users who have permission to Create Records on the Database.
Under the Permissions in Record setting is an option called 'Auto-create Related between original and copy'. If enabled, any record you Copy will automatically have a Related link between the original record and the copied record.
Copy Auto-Created Folder content
If the Auto-Created Folders feature has been setup on your Database, you can also enable an option to copy the content within the Auto-Created Folders that were created for the original record. Any items that have been added to those Folders will be copied to your new Folder structure once the copied record is published.
To enable this option, click the checkbox next to the setting called 'Copy content of original record's auto-created folder(s) to new folder(s).'
Single Database Records
To Copy any Record within a Single Database, head to the Record's actions dropdown menu and select Copy Record. Note that this terminology may differ on your page as this is a customisable term, as you can see below ('Copy Project').
Once you select Copy Record, a new, duplicate record will then open. This includes all values from all Pages that have been filled in on the original record, including any attachments from your Upload fields. You will still need to Save the record to successfully create it.
Copying Staged Database Records
To Copy any Record within a Staged Database, go to the relevant Record's actions dropdown menu and select Copy Record (as you would in a Single Database, demonstrated above). Note that this terminology appear differently on your page as this is a customisable term, as you can see below ('Copy Project').
When you copy a Staged Record, only Stage 1 content will be copied. Values entered in other Stages, ie Stage 2 and beyond will not be copied.
If you have any further questions about this feature, please contact your Customer Success Manager. Alternatively you can read more about the Databases module here.
Please note that the 'Database' and 'Records' terminology referenced above may appear differently in your platform as these are customisable terms.