Workflows are created to automate your approvals which will ensure that the correct people are across the process whenever they are required. "Approvers" (Those that are marking and providing feedback) can be chosen by the "Requester" (owner of the collateral, Resource, Document etc) from groups, or custom lists. Approvers can also be permanently named in a workflow so they they are automatically nominated every time it is triggered.
*Note: if you would like to create a new workflow or edit an existing one but are unsure how to, please contact your Account Manager to assist in helping you make the best decision according to best practice.
Admin Workflow Tab Navigation
In order to see all Workflows, click on "Admin" in the navigation bar and select the "Workflow" tab. Here you can edit the Workflow template and view where it is currently being used.
Publish Approvals can be applied on a Folder for your Resources, or on a Database Record or Survey. This is used when approval is required on an item before it is officially published to the platform.
Feedback Requests can be applied on a Folder for your Resources, or on a Database Record or Survey. They can be requested on any item at any time, independently of them being already published or not.
Click here to read more about requesting feedback on a resource.
Download Approvals apply only to Resources.
These apply to users with Preview permission on a Resource who have to request to be allowed to download the item. You can capture information in this request, such as why it is needed, until when, and what it will be used for, which will all be auditable data stored on the platform against this item.
Record File Approvals
This applies to files added to Multi Upload Fields within a Database Record. This type of approval does not impact the publish status of the file - added files will continue to display in the field even if Declined, or Cancelled.
You can read more about Record File Approvals here.
Permissions can be enabled for User Groups in Admin > Groups.
- A group or user with no enabled permissions to this module will mean these user(s) will only see Requests they are either the Requester or a selected Reviewer on.
- A group or user with Access permission on the Workflow module will be able to view all Requests in their Workflow Request List.
- A group or user with Admin permission on the Workflow module will additionally be able to respond to any request (including to override all required responses and provide a definitive Approve or Decline response and Complete the Request at that time.)
When a user/s is added to an approval they will be automatically notified and the request will also appear as "pending" in the Approval section of their platform, as demonstrated below in the Workflow Request list. In this area, users can respond to a request by approving or declining a request or adding Markups to request additional changes be made to that item.
* Please note that some of the terms used above such as Workflows & Approvals are customisable and may appear differently in your platform.