When enabled, the Restricted Edit Record Permission setting allows you to restrict the users who can delete a record to only those with Admin permissions on a database's records, ensuring those with Edit permission are not able to delete any existing record.
This setting will also limit who can manage the Permissions in a record (when enabled) to users with Admin permissions on the database's records.
This article will take you through how to enable this setting and provide examples of how it works.
Table of Contents
How to enable the Restricted Edit Record setting on a Database
For an existing database open the actions menu and select Manage Permissions.
On that page, simply click the Restricted Edit Record Permissions checkbox and Submit to enable this setting for that specific database. You can see an example of how to do this below:
Deleting Records
Once enabled, a user with Edit permission on records for this database will no longer be able to delete records. This includes draft records. The Delete action will no longer appear for the relevant users in any location, such as in the record's action menu, though they will still be able to select to Edit, as shown below:
To read more about how Permissions work on your IntelligenceBank platform, click here.
Manage Permissions on a Record
When the Restricted Edit Record Permissions setting is enabled, the option for the user with Edit permission to Manage Permissions on a record level is also removed.
Permissions in Record
A setting called Permissions in Record is available to users who can add a new database or edit an existing database via the Database Settings action.
If enabled, this field allows users who can Create or Edit a record to view and assign permissions for that record to other users.
However, when the Restricted Edit Record Permission setting is also enabled, only users who have Admin permissions on records for this database will see this field when adding or editing a record.
An example of an Admin user who can access this field when editing a record:
The same record when edited by a user with only Edit permission on records. Note that the Permissions button does not appear:
Exceptions
- If a user has Edit permission on an individual record, but also Admin permission on the Records Module (via Admin > Groups permissions set-up), then these restrictions will not apply.
- If a user has Edit permission on records in a database but also has Admin permissions on the same module via another Group, then these restrictions will not apply.
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article